The Mile

People come into our lives for a reason. Sometimes we learn something about ourselves through the interaction and they do likewise. At times there may not always be a positive outcome and we wonder why we met them. But God has a plan and often it’s not until we look back that we can see how they helped make us what we are today – how we grew from the experience of meeting them.
Perhaps they awaken feelings in us that we thought were long since dead. They may show us new horizons, give us new hope to live.
I am reading ‘Me Before You’ at the moment by JoJo Moyes.
A woman is a carer for a quadriplegic who wants to end his life. She sets about trying to change his mind by showing him all manner of things – taking him out to various places etc. It is a moving story and one I recommend you read.

A friend recently sent me this quote.
I don’t know its source, if you do please let me know.
I think it sums up well the above.

Quote~
The Mile –People come into our lives and walk with us a mile, and then because of circumstance they only stay a while. They serve a need within the days that move so quickly by, and then are gone beyond our reach, we often wonder why. God only knows the reason that we meet and share a smile, why people come into our lives and walk with us a mile.

About Shirley Cook

I am an author, poet and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Mile

  1. loutreleaven says:

    I’ve read that book too; it’s amazing.

Leave a comment